President Obama Post Presidency

When I lived in Trenton, New Jersey, I traveled to Newark, New Jersey, to work as a Community Organizer for Acorn.  It was a job that my daughter Tamika found for me, because she knew that I am passionate about working on issues of politics that make our communities a more inclusive place to live.

Working for Acorn was a great learning experience.  As a Community Organizer, I traveled in groups with other organizers and was dispatched to neighborhoods where we did a lot of walking and knocking on doors.

President Obama, my clipboard was one of the first things they saw in my hand.  While many were not happy to see me knock on their doors, their interest in my practiced opening dialogue, written by Acorn, opened their minds to my presence.

My experience as a community organizer also included doing a lot of foot work to register people to vote.  While we were registering people to vote in support of our candidate, my main agenda was to just engage into conversations that would get people registered.

In addition to a lot of walking, I made hundreds of telephone calls from a list generated by Acorn, to solicit support for the nonprofit through financial support and through recruiting volunteers. I conducted this work in my community in Trenton, as well as in the Acorn Office that was located in Newark, New Jersey.

I am proud of the work I did as an Acorn activist because not only did I worked with them to help get Cory Booker elected, but I also protested in front of a paint store to advocate against lead poisoning.

What was most memorable, was that I did a lot of walking to meet and talk to people of all races and ages in their homes, while seated at their kitchen and dining room tables.  While some saw me at the door with that clipboard and did not answer, others who welcomed me into their homes to listen to what I had to say, sometimes invited me to stay and eat with them, the meal they were in the middle of preparing before I knocked on the door.

I became even more proud of my affiliation with Acorn when I learned that President Obama was also an Acorn Community Organizer.

President Obama has decided to make a priority of working with young people, engaging them into the politics of being independent ambassadors of this country.  Those young people as well as this country will be greatly blessed, and they will go out into the world, as President Obama is doing, and educate and bless others.

“FULL: Former President Obama Speaks at the University of Chicago 4/24/2017”

World News Today

4/25/17

As I listened to the young people engaged with Obama speak, I was inspired.  At 60 years old, I too am excited about doing something meaningful with the rest of my life that will make a difference in the quality of life of those living in this country, as well as for people in countries around the world.

I have experienced a lot of challenges that I did not welcome at the time, but my wealth of life experiences, as well as my age, has well prepared me for the future endeavors I anticipate exploring.

The life of President Barrack Obama is evident to us all that the universe has our back, and in spite of experiences that are challenging, each experience is preparing us for the life that we are intended to live out.

 

Leave a Reply

